Operations and Coordination. 34A people filling sandbags in the canal looks like during a rain monsoon.

Mitigation Grant Programs

Mitigation funding is available through 404 and 406 mitigation programs. As defined in the Robert T. Stafford Act, hazard mitigation funding is made available through the two programs if mitigation measures are deemed cost-effective. 

DEMA's Mitigation Branch administers the Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) grants (404 Mitigation), which mainly fall into two categories: disaster mitigation grants and non-disaster mitigation grants. Disaster mitigation grants are triggered by a presidential disaster declaration, or a Fire Management Assistance Grant (FMAG). Non-disaster mitigation grants are annual cycle grants for mitigating hazards. 

The 406 Mitigation is under the Public Assistance Program, and DEMA’s Public Assistance Branch administers the Public Assistance 406 Mitigation.  

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)

HMGP provides grants to states, local and tribal governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration. The purpose of HMGP is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and to enable mitigation measures to be implemented during the immediate recovery from a disaster.

HMGP funds become available after most Federally-declared disasters, and are competitively awarded within the declared State. Preference is given to jurisdictions within the impacted areas; however, this does not exclude jurisdictions elsewhere in the State from applying.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Post Fire (HMGP Post Fire) 

The HMGP Post Fire grant program is available after a Fire Management Assistance Grant (FMAG) declaration, within the state, has been made. Grant priority is given to fire projects within the affected counties. However, states, federally-recognized tribes and territories affected by fires resulting in an FMAG declaration on or after October 5, 2018, are eligible to apply.


Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) 

The BRIC program guiding principles are supporting communities through capability - and capacity-building; encouraging and enabling innovation; promoting partnerships; enabling large projects; maintaining flexibility; and providing consistency. It provides an opportunity to implement mitigation prior to a disaster. BRIC is an annual, nati​onally competitive program and funding is based on the previous year's nationwide disaster expenses.

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) 

The purpose of the FMA grant program is to assist states, local and tribal governments reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to buildings, manufactured homes, and other structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The FMA Program is awarded annually (based on the Federal budget) and projects are reviewed and awarded at the national level.

Public Assistance Mitigation (406) 

Post-disaster hazard mitigation opportunities are available under Public Assistance (PA) Mitigation​. PA Mitigation funding is available to damaged public facilities and certain private non-profits after a Presidential disaster declaration. Funding is available for any eligible PA permanent work projects (Category C-G) when PA repair funds are made available through a non-competitive grant process. 

Damaged facilities due to disasters may be eligible for PA Mitigation (406) under Public Assistance.