Community Disaster Resilience Zones (CDRZ)

Community Disaster Resilience Zones aim to build and strengthen community resilience across the nation by driving federal, public, and private resources to the most at-risk and in-need communities.

The Community Disaster Resilience Zones Act uses FEMA’s National Risk Index to identify the most at-risk and in-need communities to identify resilience zones. Designated zones will be prioritized for targeted federal support, such as increased cost-share for resilience and mitigation projects, lessening the financial burden on communities to perform resilience-related activities.

September 6, FEMA announced the initial 483 designations in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. A second designation for tribal lands and territories will be in Fall 2023.