State of Arizona Earns EMAP Reaccreditation

State of Arizona Earns EMAP Reaccreditation

  • Outsite view of the State Emergency Operations Center
Outsite view of the State Emergency Operations Center

For Immediate Release
June 10, 2020

Public Information Contact:
Judy Kioski (602)509-5216


State of Arizona Earns EMAP Reaccreditation

Emergency Management Program Competes Nationally


PHOENIX—The State of Arizona was formally reaccredited by the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) Commission this week. EMAP accreditation is the gold standard in the emergency management world. It recognizes an agency's excellence in prevention, mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery from disasters. Every five years, the Arizona Department of Emergency and Military Affairs (DEMA), Division of Emergency Management seeks out this distinction.


“As emergency managers, this is an important tool for us to hold ourselves accountable to partner agencies and the citizens of Arizona,” says Allen Clark, Director of the Arizona Division of Emergency Management. “A stamp of approval from EMAP is one of the many ways we ensure we’re providing the best possible emergency response and recovery capabilities for the whole community.”


Arizona earned its first EMAP accreditation on behalf of the State of Arizona in 2004 and was one of the first states in the country to be fully reaccredited in 2009. 


“Like a real-world incident, meeting the EMAP standards was a team effort,” says Clark. “We appreciate the ongoing cooperation of other agencies in the state, many of which worked hard alongside us to make this reaccreditation happen.”


DEMA’s application for reaccreditation was evaluated against a set of 64 standards, including areas such as program management, hazard mitigation and resource management. Applicants must demonstrate through self-assessment, documentation and peer assessment that its program meets national standards.


For more information on EMAP, visit


Download the PDF version here.